@Namaste Cafe (OM Beach – Gokarna)

Lighter moments in front of Namaste Cafe - OM Beach - Courtesy Tiara

Lighter moments in front of Namaste Cafe – OM Beach – Courtesy Tiara

Except for a couple of western backpackers Namaste Café was empty.  Namaste café which is open in and out of season is the best place to hang around and chill out at OM beach.  The restaurant opens to the sea and the view from the restaurant is very nice. The restaurant here serves great vegetarian and non-vegetarian bites.  Placing an order for a veg- pizza and masala tea I sat watching the waves lashing the rocks.  The food took a little time to reach my table but the portions were large. From crust to toppings the pizza was satiating.

Namaste Cafe...interior

Namaste Cafe…interior

Sipping the Masala tea I glanced around the café.  From the table at the right corner of the café there was someone watching me curiously; a lady blessed with dimpled cheeks .probably in her late twenties.  Her hair was coral-black and it toppled over her shoulders and bliss-blue eyes behind the eyeglasses were globe-round.  If I were a bachelor, there was a high probability of myself having a crush with her. Inquisitively I raised my eyebrows and she winked. When I winked she looked quizzical. With a sly smile she walked towards me.  She had a cheerful character. I am Tiara she said.  Tiara had a deep and gravelly voice that didn’t match her looks. Tiaras worked as a psychologist at Detroit, USA . For the last seven years Tiara has been visiting Gokarna at this time of the year.

View from Namaste Cafe

View from Namaste Cafe

As we sipped the masala tea, our conversation gathered momentum. Tiara was fascinated with the Indian institution of marriage. She started quizzing me on Indian outlook on relationships and the way we perceived the institution of marriage.  When I told Tiara marriage in India is a life-long relationship and not based on each other needs she chuckled and nodded approvingly. On hearing I have been living a successful married life for the last 14 years-in spite of the problems which creeps in intermittently-as any other relationship, Tiara vociferated pretty loudly.  Finishing the tea, we strolled along the beach.

I was unaware of being clicked :) - Photo courtesy - Tiara

I was unaware of being clicked 🙂 – Photo courtesy – Tiara

The beach was so soft; it felt like we were walking on a layer of unhardened chocolate. As we sauntered by the beach, Tiara talked about her broken relationships, ditching’ boyfriends and the trauma she went through. Tiara’s tone and gestures appeared a little melancholic.  To lighten up the situation I came up with the idea of trying some sand writing.

Scribbling in the Sand

I scribbled - The Treasure Trove

I scribbled – The Treasure Trove

It was tiara’s turn first to scribble in the sand. The writing has to be completed without the waves washing away the writing. With her varnished manicured finger nails, Tiara scribbled down the name of her boyfriend and her country.  I scribbled down the name of my holiday cottages (The Treasure Trove) and my workplace (Wrench).

Wrench - My workplace

Wrench – My workplace

We stood there with our feet in the sand next to our writings. Patiently we watched the water creeping up with each new wave getting a few inches closer to our writings. Waves crept further up the shore until all of the words we had written were washed away. The sand was perfectly smooth. as though the writing was never there.

Our Footprints - @OM Beach :)

Our Footprints – @OM Beach 🙂

An abrupt end..
The horizon seems like to be sewn with a line of gold. A flock of noisy seabirds’ squawked over our heads. A single boat was drifting towards the shore in the incoming tide.  We were encrusted with warmth of the setting sun.  As we walked backed, a carnival of aromas floated from the kitchen at the Namaste Café.

OM Beach view

OM Beach view

It was time to bid good-bye to Tiara. Tiara now looked pleased. Thanks for your time-she said-shaking my hand.  All exciting meetings do have an abrupt end. I started walking back to my shack close to Kudlee beach. The sun had not yet disappeared. The sea was indistinguishable from the sky. Gradually the sky started darkening slightly and from a distance when I turned around I could see Tiara still waving at me.

Sky Darkened by rain clouds - OM Beach

Sky Darkened by rain clouds – OM Beach

6 thoughts on “@Namaste Cafe (OM Beach – Gokarna)

  1. Lovely poetic post, Sunil, with evocative images. How blessed to be able to listen to the heart of a stranger. And congratulations on your solid marriage. I have been 25 years married this year. Aren’t we lucky?

Leave a Reply

